Generic 4 × 6 in direct thermal labels work in most shipping printers—but not all, and not in every format. Three things decide fit: whether the printer accepts third-party media at all, whether it feeds fanfold or holds rolls inside, and whether a roll's core and outer diameter fit.
Rules of thumb
DYMO LabelWriter 550/5XL and Brother QL printers don't take generic 4x6 labels.
Fanfold stacks avoid core and diameter questions entirely.
Printers that hold rolls inside (Zebra, iDPRT, Arkscan, POLONO) list a 5 in maximum outer diameter. Rollo's 500-label roll is 5.125 in, so it doesn't fit inside them.
External-feed printers (Rollo, MUNBYN, Phomemo 241BT) need a separate holder for rolls.
Fit by printer
Confirmed = named by the label or printer maker. Conditional = specs match or an accessory is required. Unknown is never treated as compatible.
ConfirmedMaker's own label for its printers; 4 in width within range; fanfold feed supported.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
ConditionalPrinter feeds from outside, so a roll needs an external holder that takes a 5.125 in roll on a 1.5 in core.
ConditionalPrinter feeds from outside, so a roll needs an external holder on a 1 in core; spec match only, not named by the label maker for this model.
UnknownPrinter maker does not state fanfold support.
ConditionalSame-brand label; the printer's page does not state its feed format, so confirm fanfold feed.
ConditionalPrinter feeds from outside, so a roll needs an external holder that takes a 5.125 in roll on a 1.5 in core; spec match only, not named by the label maker for this model.
ConditionalPrinter feeds from outside, so a roll needs an external holder on a 1 in core; spec match only, not named by the label maker for this model.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
Not supportedRoll is 5.125 in across; the printer's internal limit is 5 in (0.5 in and 1 in cores standard; 1.5–3 in with adapters).
ConditionalInternal roll limit 5 in OD; 1 in core is standard on this printer; label maker does not publish roll OD, so confirm it is 5 in or less.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
ConditionalPrinter feeds from outside, so a roll needs an external holder that takes a 5.125 in roll on a 1.5 in core; spec match only, not named by the label maker for this model.
ConditionalPrinter feeds from outside, so a roll needs an external holder on a 1 in core; spec match only, not named by the label maker for this model.
ConfirmedMaker's own label for its printers; 4 in width within range; fanfold feed supported.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
ConditionalPrinter feeds from outside, so a roll needs an external holder that takes a 5.125 in roll on a 1.5 in core.
ConditionalPrinter feeds from outside, so a roll needs an external holder on a 1 in core; spec match only, not named by the label maker for this model.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
ConfirmedMaker's own label for its printers; 4 in width within range; fanfold feed supported.
ConditionalPrinter feeds from outside, so a roll needs an external holder that takes a 5.125 in roll on a 1.5 in core; spec match only, not named by the label maker for this model.
ConditionalPrinter feeds from outside, so a roll needs an external holder on a 1 in core; spec match only, not named by the label maker for this model.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
Not supportedRoll is 5.125 in across; the printer's internal limit is 5 in (0.5 in and 1 in cores standard).
ConditionalInternal roll limit 5 in OD; 1 in core is standard on this printer; label maker does not publish roll OD, so confirm it is 5 in or less.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
Not supportedRoll is 5.125 in across; the printer's internal limit is 5 in (core size not published).
ConditionalInternal roll limit 5 in OD; core size not published; label maker does not publish roll OD, so confirm it is 5 in or less.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
Not supportedRoll is 5.125 in across; the printer's internal limit is 5 in (core size not published).
ConditionalInternal roll limit 5 in OD; core size not published; label maker does not publish roll OD, so confirm it is 5 in or less.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
Not supportedRoll is 5.125 in across; the printer's internal limit is 5 in (core size not published).
ConditionalInternal roll limit 5 in OD; core size not published; label maker does not publish roll OD, so confirm it is 5 in or less.
Brother QL-1110NWB product page(Brother USA, manufacturer product page; checked September 27, 2026) — Page lists older OS versions; current drivers are on Brother support.
Brother QL-1100 product page(Brother USA, manufacturer product page; checked September 27, 2026) — Page lists older OS versions.