Labels review

Rollo 4x6 Fanfold Direct Thermal Labels (500)

Fanfold stacks are the easiest label format for external-feed printers: no holder, no roll clearance, and the stack sits flat behind the printer. Rollo's 500-label stack is documented as direct thermal, perforated, BPA-free and FSC certified.

Buy if / skip if

Buy it if

  • You own a Rollo printer.
  • You use another external-feed 4-inch direct thermal printer that accepts fanfold.

Pros and cons

What stands out

  • No holder needed
  • Perforated
  • BPA-free, FSC certified per Rollo

Drawbacks

  • Adhesive type not specified
  • Rollo names only Rollo printers as compatible

Specifications

From the sources listed at the end of this review. Speeds are manufacturer claims; “not stated” means the maker doesn’t publish it in the documents we read.

Rollo 4x6 fanfold labels specifications
Size4 × 6 in
FormatFanfold stack
Quantity500 labels
Core sizeNot applicable (fanfold)
Roll diameterNot applicable
MaterialDirect thermal paper; FSC certified; BPA-free (Rollo)
AdhesiveNot specified by Rollo
Sensing / perforationPerforated between labels (gap/perforation sensing)
Maker's compatibility statementRollo thermal printers
ExclusionsNot for printers that need proprietary media (DYMO LW, Brother DK)

Printer compatibility

Confirmed = named by the label or printer maker. Conditional = published specs match but the pairing isn’t named, or an accessory is needed. Unknown is never treated as compatible.

PrinterFit with Rollo 4x6 fanfold labels
Rollo WirelessConfirmedMaker's own label for its printers; 4 in width within range; fanfold feed supported.
Rollo USBConfirmedMaker's own label for its printers; 4 in width within range; fanfold feed supported.
Zebra ZD421dConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
Phomemo 241BTConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
MUNBYN P941UConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
Zebra ZD220dConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
iDPRT SP410ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
Arkscan 2054A-LANConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
POLONO PL60ConditionalSpec match only: 4 in direct thermal fanfold within the printer's width range. Not named by the label maker for this model; calibrate on first use.
MUNBYN RW403BUnknownPrinter maker does not state fanfold support.
DYMO LabelWriter 5XLNot supportedDYMO states the 550 series and 5XL work only with DYMO-branded labels.
Brother QL-1110NWBNot supportedBrother QL printers use DK roll cartridges.
Brother QL-1100Not supportedBrother QL printers use DK roll cartridges.
Brother QL-800Not supportedBrother QL printers use DK roll cartridges.
Brother QL-820NWBNot supportedBrother QL printers use DK roll cartridges.
DYMO LabelWriter 550Not supportedDYMO states the 550 series and 5XL work only with DYMO-branded labels.
Phomemo M110Not supportedThis printer uses Phomemo M-series rolls; this label is generic direct thermal media.

Analysis

Why fanfold suits small desks

A 500-label stack takes a 4 × 6 in patch of desk behind the printer—about the same as a roll holder, but without the holder's hardware. See roll vs fanfold.

Compatibility notes and common mistakes

Any direct thermal printer that accepts 4 in media and fanfold feed can use these in principle; only Rollo printers are named by Rollo.

  • Buying for a thermal-transfer printer without a ribbon.
  • Feeding the stack at an angle.

Alternatives

Compare these side by side

Final recommendation

Our default 4x6 label for Rollo and similar external-feed printers.

Sources

Read and checked on September 27, 2026. We cite manufacturer documents first; third-party hosts are labeled.

  1. Rollo 4x6 fanfold label product page (Rollo, manufacturer product page; checked September 27, 2026)
  2. Which labels work with Rollo (support article) (Rollo, manufacturer support article; checked September 27, 2026)