Brecknell PS-USB 150 lb Shipping Scale (816965006526)
The PS-USB-150 is the scale for a business that wants certified-capable weighing and a platform big enough for real boxes. Brecknell documents NTEP approval, a 12 × 14 in platform and RS-232/USB output. Its 0.05 lb steps are too coarse for letters and flats—pair it with a small postal scale if you ship both.
150 lb × 0.05 lb model; 30 lb and 70 lb versions exist.
Buy if / skip if
Buy it if
- You need a scale that can be certified legal for trade.
- Your boxes are larger than a shoebox.
- Your software reads a serial/virtual-COM scale.
Skip it if
- You mainly ship light mailers (0.05 lb ≈ 0.8 oz steps).
- You need a detachable display for oversized boxes.
Pros and cons
What stands out
- NTEP approved
- 12 × 14 in platform
- RS-232 and USB
- Configurable auto-off, tare, several hold modes
Drawbacks
- Coarse 0.05 lb steps
- Fixed display
- USB is a virtual COM port, not HID—check software support
- Warranty not in the documents we read
Specifications
From the sources listed at the end of this review. Speeds are manufacturer claims; “not stated” means the maker doesn’t publish it in the documents we read.
| Capacity | 150 lb (60 kg) |
|---|---|
| Minimum load | Not stated |
| Display increments | 0.05 lb (0.8 oz) / 0.02 kg |
| Stated accuracy / tolerance | NTEP-approved (Class III per resellers); tolerance per NTEP class, not a single ± figure |
| Units | kg, lb, lb:oz (lb:oz is non-NTEP) |
| Tare | Yes (manual and preset tare) |
| Hold | Yes (several modes; Auto HOLD default) |
| Remote or detachable display | No (integrated display) |
| Display cable | Not applicable |
| Platform | 12 × 14 in (355 × 305 mm), stainless steel top |
| Power | 6 V DC 500 mA adapter or four AA batteries |
| Auto-off | Configurable 1–255 min; default appears off |
| Calibration | Sealed calibration switch; needs >10% of capacity as test weight |
| Data connection | RS-232 and USB (virtual COM port) |
| Legal for trade | NTEP approved; not legal for trade until certified and registered by a Weights & Measures agent (Brecknell) |
| Included | Not itemized |
| Dimensions | 16 × 14 × 3.15 in |
| Warranty | Not stated in the documents we read |
Analysis
“Legal for trade” is a process, not a sticker
Brecknell's service manual says the scale is NTEP certified for legal-for-trade applications but is “not a Legal for Trade until it has been certified and registered by an authorized Weights and Measures agent.” Most home shippers don't need this; businesses that charge by weight may.
Platform math
A 12 × 14 in platform fully supports a 12 × 12 in box. The display is integrated, so very large boxes can still block it.
Compatibility notes and common mistakes
USB presents as a virtual serial port; confirm your shipping software supports it.
- Assuming NTEP approval makes it legal for trade out of the box.
- Using it for letter mail where 0.8 oz steps matter.
Alternatives
Brecknell PS150 Slimline (150 lb)
Brecknell's 150 lb receiving scale with a movable indicator.
Brecknell PS-USB-150 vs PS150 Slimline: 150 lb Scales for Bigger Boxes · Compare these side by side
FAQ
- What does NTEP mean?
- NTEP is the US National Type Evaluation Program. An NTEP certificate means the model type was evaluated; individual scales used commercially still need local inspection and registration.
Final recommendation
The right choice for businesses that need certifiable weighing and a proper platform.
Sources
Read and checked on September 27, 2026. We cite manufacturer documents first; third-party hosts are labeled.
- Brecknell PS-USB product page (Brecknell, manufacturer product page; checked September 27, 2026)
- PS-USB Service Manual (PDF) (Brecknell, manufacturer manual; checked September 27, 2026)