DYMO M25 Digital USB Postal Scale (1772059)
For envelopes and small parcels, the M25 stands out because DYMO actually publishes how accurate it is: ±0.2 oz below 12.5 lb and ±0.4 oz above. It also connects over USB as a standard HID scale, so shipping software that reads USB scales can pull weights directly. The limits are 25 lb capacity and a fixed display.
25 lb model; the DYMO M10 (10 lb) shares the same user guide.
Buy if / skip if
Buy it if
- Most of your shipments are under 25 lb.
- You want a published tolerance, not just a display increment.
- Your shipping software reads USB scales.
Skip it if
- You ship boxes larger than about a shoebox—the fixed display may be covered.
- You need more than 25 lb capacity.
- You want an AC adapter option (USB or AAA only).
Pros and cons
What stands out
- Published accuracy tolerance
- USB HID connection for software weight capture
- Tare and hold
- USB or battery power
Drawbacks
- 25 lb capacity
- No detachable display
- Platform size not stated in the guide
- 1-year warranty
Specifications
From the sources listed at the end of this review. Speeds are manufacturer claims; “not stated” means the maker doesn’t publish it in the documents we read.
| Capacity | 25 lb (11 kg) |
|---|---|
| Minimum load | Not stated |
| Display increments | 0.1 oz (2 g) |
| Stated accuracy / tolerance | ±0.2 oz below half capacity; ±0.4 oz above half capacity |
| Units | lb/oz and kg/g |
| Tare | Yes |
| Hold | Yes (freezes the reading after the item is removed) |
| Remote or detachable display | No |
| Display cable | Not applicable |
| Platform | Not stated |
| Power | USB 2.0 or 3 AAA alkaline batteries |
| Auto-off | After 3 minutes of inactivity |
| Calibration | Factory calibrated; DYMO says it will not need recalibration |
| Data connection | USB 2.0 Low Speed HID scale device (recognized by compatible shipping software) |
| Legal for trade | Not stated |
| Included | Not itemized in the guide |
| Dimensions | Not stated |
| Warranty | 1-year limited |
Analysis
What ±0.2 oz means in practice
A 0.1 oz display increment tells you how finely the number changes; the tolerance tells you how far that number may be from the true weight. With ±0.2 oz below half capacity, a package reading 15.9 oz could truly be 15.7–16.1 oz. If you are near a pricing threshold, leave margin or round up. See our capacity vs resolution vs accuracy guide.
USB weight capture
DYMO describes the M25 as a USB 2.0 Low Speed HID scale device. Whether your shipping software reads it is up to that software; the scale itself doesn't need a driver.
Compatibility notes and common mistakes
USB power and data use the same cable. Auto-off after 3 minutes of inactivity.
- Treating the 0.1 oz increment as the accuracy.
- Weighing boxes that overhang the platform and cover the display.
Alternatives
My Weigh Ultraship U2 (60 lb)
60 lb capacity with a detachable display on a 2 ft cord.
Brecknell PS-USB 150 lb Shipping Scale (816965006526)
NTEP-approved 150 lb scale with a 12 × 14 in platform.
DYMO M25 vs My Weigh Ultraship U2: Small-Parcel Shipping Scales · Compare these side by side
FAQ
- Does the M25 need calibration?
- DYMO says it is calibrated at the factory and will not need to be calibrated again. It does not publish a user calibration procedure.
- Is the DYMO M10 the same scale?
- The M10 and M25 share a user guide; the M10 is the 10 lb version.
Final recommendation
Our first choice for small parcels under 25 lb, because the tolerance is documented.
Sources
Read and checked on September 27, 2026. We cite manufacturer documents first; third-party hosts are labeled.
- Digital USB Postal Scale User Guide M10 | M25 (PDF) (DYMO, manufacturer manual; checked September 27, 2026)