Brecknell PS-USB-150 vs PS150 Slimline: 150 lb Scales for Bigger Boxes
Choose the PS-USB-150 when you need certifiable weighing, finer steps and a data port; choose the PS150 Slimline when a movable indicator matters more for bulky boxes.
Side by side
Scroll sideways to see every column; the first column stays in place.
| Model | Brecknell PS-USB 150 lb Shipping Scale (816965006526) Top pick (business / certified) Check price on AmazonReview | Brecknell PS150 Slimline (150 lb) Situational Check price on AmazonReview |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Businesses that need an NTEP-approved scale and a 12 × 14 in platform for larger boxes | Heavy or bulky boxes up to 150 lb where the indicator needs to sit away from the platform |
| Key caveat | Legal-for-trade use requires certification by a Weights & Measures official; 0.05 lb steps are coarse for letters. | 0.1 lb steps; not for letters. Listing title lacks the model code. |
| Capacity | 150 lb (60 kg) | 150 lb (70 kg) |
| Display increments | 0.05 lb (0.8 oz) / 0.02 kg | 0.1 lb / 0.05 kg |
| Stated accuracy | NTEP-approved (Class III per resellers); tolerance per NTEP class, not a single ± figure | Not stated |
| Platform | 12 × 14 in (355 × 305 mm), stainless steel top | Not stated in the manual |
| Display visibility | No (integrated display) | Movable indicator; desk or wall-mount bracket |
| Tare / hold | Tare: Yes (manual and preset tare); Hold: Yes (several modes; Auto HOLD default) | Tare: Yes; Hold: Not stated |
| Power | 6 V DC 500 mA adapter or four AA batteries | 4 AA batteries (preferred) or external adapter |
| Auto-off | Configurable 1–255 min; default appears off | 5 minutes; can be disabled |
| Data connection | RS-232 and USB (virtual COM port) | None stated |
| Legal for trade | NTEP approved; not legal for trade until certified and registered by a Weights & Measures agent (Brecknell) | Not stated |
| Sources checked | 2 source(s), last verified September 27, 2026 | 1 source(s), last verified September 27, 2026 |
The differences that matter
- Certification: PS-USB is NTEP approved (legal for trade only after local certification). NTEP status isn't stated in the Slimline manual we read.
- Steps: 0.05 lb (PS-USB) vs 0.1 lb (Slimline).
- Display: integrated on the PS-USB; movable, wall-mountable indicator on the Slimline.
- Platform: 12 × 14 in documented for the PS-USB; not stated in the Slimline manual.
- Data: RS-232 and USB (virtual COM) on the PS-USB; none documented on the Slimline.
Who should choose which
Choose the Brecknell PS-USB-150 if…
- You charge by weight or need NTEP approval.
- Your software reads a serial/USB scale.
Choose the Brecknell PS150 Slimline if…
- Boxes regularly hide a fixed display.
- You want to wall-mount the indicator.
Bottom line
For most small businesses shipping heavy boxes, the PS-USB-150 is the more capable scale; the PS150 Slimline solves the hidden-display problem.
Sources
- Brecknell PS-USB product page (Brecknell, manufacturer product page; checked September 27, 2026)
- PS-USB Service Manual (PDF) (Brecknell, manufacturer manual; checked September 27, 2026)
- PS150 Slimline and PS400 Slimline User Instructions (PDF) (Brecknell, manufacturer manual; checked September 27, 2026)
Open in the compare tool to add a third or fourth product.