Scotch Heavy Duty Shipping Packaging Tape 3850
The 3850 is a dependable default: 3.1 mil thick, 1.88 in wide, and on a standard 3 in core, so it fits common pistol-grip tape guns. The specs we cite come from a retailer table populated from 3M data.
Buy if / skip if
Buy it if
- You seal boxes regularly and want a thick, clear tape.
- You use a 2 in tape gun with a 3 in core.
Skip it if
- You use a tabletop dispenser built for 1.5 in cores.
Pros and cons
What stands out
- 3.1 mil backing
- Standard 3 in core
- Widely available multi-packs
Drawbacks
- Official 3M spec page not readable by our tools
Specifications
From the sources listed at the end of this review. Speeds are manufacturer claims; “not stated” means the maker doesn’t publish it in the documents we read.
| Dimensions | 1.88 in wide × 54.6 yd per roll |
|---|---|
| Closure | Not applicable |
| Material | Rubber-resin backing, synthetic rubber resin (hot melt) adhesive |
| Thickness | 3.1 mil |
| Quantity | 6 rolls (this listing) |
| Fit | 3 in core; fits 2 in tape dispensers built for 3 in cores |
| Supported uses | Packing, sealing and shipping; 3M marketing says it holds on recycled boxes |
| Water resistance (maker's wording) | Not stated |
Analysis
How far a roll goes (estimate)
Sealing the center seam plus both edge seams on the top and bottom of a 12 × 10 × 8 in box (an “H” pattern, with 2.5 in of overlap down the sides at each end of every strip) uses about 47 in (1.3 yd) per face, or about 2.6 yd per box. At 54.6 yd per roll, that's roughly 20 boxes per roll. Assumptions: one pass per seam, no double taping.
Compatibility notes and common mistakes
Pair with the Scotch ST-181 or another 2 in gun that takes 3 in cores.
- Using thin office tape on shipping boxes.
Alternatives
Final recommendation
A safe default packing tape.
Sources
Read and checked on September 27, 2026. We cite manufacturer documents first; third-party hosts are labeled.
- Scotch 3850 Heavy-Duty Packaging Tape spec listing (authorized office-supply retailer) (OnTime Supplies (retailer data feed), retailer specification table; checked September 27, 2026) — 3M detail pages returned 404/script-only to our fetcher.